Home Election 2021 DECISION 2021: Maxton wins Fair Oaks Ranch mayoral race; Saldaña takes spot...

DECISION 2021: Maxton wins Fair Oaks Ranch mayoral race; Saldaña takes spot on NISD board

Then-mayoral candidate Greg Maxton (third from right) campaigns with family, friends and other supporters on April 24. Maxton prevailed over fellow former Councilmember Snehal Patel. Photo courtesy/Greg Maxton

Fair Oaks Ranch’s busy election May 1 included a City Council member winning the mayor’s seat.

Elsewhere, a retired principal claimed a Northside Independent School District board spot, and a San Antonio councilman easily won reelection.


Greg Maxton, most recently the Place 6 councilman, received 53% to defeat Place 5 representative Snehal Patel in the mayor’s race.

Succeeding Garry Manitzas, Maxton is a small-business owner who retired in 2016 as an Army colonel. He pledged to help maintain the town’s quality of life and municipal services, including public safety.

“It has been my honor to meet and speak with many of you over the past few months,” Maxton said.

The election filled the remaining terms in Maxton’s and Patel’s vacant council seats.

J.C. Taylor won the three-way race to replace Patel in Place 5. An executive with a Boerne-based food company, Taylor is a third-generation Fair Oaks Ranch resident.

His campaign centered on maintaining quality infrastructure and public service, and  managing growth.

Chesley Muenchow, Fair Oaks Ranch Homeowners Association treasurer, outpaced Stephen May to claim the Place 6 post.

Muenchow is a small-business owner who has served with various neighborhood boards. She advocates government transparency, fiscally conservative views, listening to residents and independently analyzing issues.

Meanwhile, Emily Stroup beat David Deleranko to win the Place 1 seat. MaryAnne Havard declined a reelection bid. 

Stroup, an attorney, called for maintaining the town’s Hill Country culture, preserving open spaces, responsible growth and promoting efficient services.

“I truly enjoyed meeting so many neighbors and I’m looking forward to serving everyone in our beautiful city,” Stroup said.

The mayoral and Place 1 positions carry three-year terms. The Place 5 term expires in 2022 and Place 6 expires in 2023.


More than 17% of registered voters went to the polls, awarding San Antonio Mayor Ron Nirenberg a third term after facing challenger Greg Brockhouse. 

Unlike the 2019 race where he was forced into a hotly contested runoff with Brockhouse, the former District 6 councilman, Nirenberg this time easily won reelection with nearly 62% of the vote. 

Brockhouse secured 31%, followed by Denise Gutierrez-Homer and Gary Allen out of a 14-candidate field.

Nirenberg has made pandemic recovery, workforce training and infrastructure investment his top priorities for his next two years in public office.

“Thank you San Antonio, we did it together,” Nirenberg said in a video statement.

District 8 Councilman Manny Peláez claimed a third term with 59%.

“I’m humbled by your support and honored to be your District 8 Councilman for another term,” Peláez told constituents. 

The electorate also passed a City Charter amendment that enables San Antonio to issue bonds for permanent public improvements, such as building affordable housing, or others not prohibited by the Texas Constitution.

A more controversial initiative that proposed repealing police officers’ collective bargaining rights was narrowly rejected by 51% of voters. The San Antonio Police Officers Association used its Facebook page to thank Proposition B opponents. 

“You voted overwhelmingly to support your San Antonio police and ensured that we can continue to keep our neighborhoods safe,” the group posted.

Police reformers such as Fix SAPD argued SAPOA misled voters into thinking a vote for Proposition B would instantly cut police funding. 

Fix SAPD pledged to keep backing greater accountability for police, especially officers accused of misconduct.


In the Northside Independent School District, retired NISD Principal Corinne Saldaña received nearly 33%, outpacing three other contestants in a race to succeed District 5 trustee Katie Reed, who stepped down. 

“I wish Katie Reed well in her retirement and I will make every effort to model the same standard of fairness and intelligent decision making,” Saldaña said.

District 6 Trustee and Shavano Park resident Carol Harle coasted to a third term with 76% over Thomas Leger.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.