Northside ISD candidate Tom Leger and Trustee Carol Harle

One school board member faces a challenger while four aspiring trustees are jockeying for an open seat in Northside Independent School District races.

District 5 trustee Katie Reed is retiring after 30-plus years on the school board.

Contenders are Irma Iris Duran de Rodriguez, senior housing policy coordinator for the city; educator Jakub Kosiba; and two retired NISD educators and administrators, Sharon Chumley and Corinne Saldaña.

Irma Iris Duran de Rodriguez

A Clark High School alumna, Duran de Rodriguez has served with the Northside Educational Improvement Council and NISD PTA Council Arts in Education Committee.

Her campaign themes are ensuring all campuses receive infrastructure improvements, technology and top-tier instructors, and strengthening students’ mental-health services.

She also calls for reinforcing mentorship programs, and promoting “community engagement and uniform messaging across schools to increase transparency and trust.”

A digital marketing director, Kosiba advocates greater participation by faculty, students and residents in the educational process.

Jakub Kosiba

“It’s time for everyone to stand up for the future of children,” he said.

Saldaña volunteers at University United Methodist Church.

“I would promote excellence in education, fairness in all aspects of education, and innovation to continue improving our services,” she added.

Thomas Leger opposes District 6 trustee Carol Harle’s run for a third term.

Harle’s educational resumé includes instructor at the University of Texas at San Antonio, consultant/ instructional coach for CAST Schools, and NISD teacher and administrator.

Her goals include targeting students’ learning gaps caused by the pandemic, enhancing social- emotional learning, wraparound services, mental-health care and other existing programs, plus improving facilities.

Corinne Saldaña

Leger wants on-campus licensed social workers, career and college counselors in high schools, plus enhanced employee pay and representation.

“We place a tremendous amount of responsibility for our students’ well- being in the hands of our employees, and it’s time their compensation matched that level of trust,” he added.

Early voting is 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. April 19-23 and 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. April 24 and 26-27.

Locations include Cody Branch Library, 11441 Vance Jackson Road; Shavano Park City Hall, 900 Saddletree Court; and UTSA Main Campus (Bexar Room).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.