Home Alamo Heights AHISD, SA Voters keep incumbents

AHISD, SA Voters keep incumbents


A political newcomer won election to the Olmos Park City Council on May 4, while voters in the Alamo Heights Independent School District retained a current board member.

Elsewhere, the San Antonio electorate overwhelmingly returned three incumbents to City Hall.


Erin Harrison, a territory manager of surgery and oncology for AngioDynamics, won the Place 1 seat vacated by Enzo Pellegrino. She received 57 percent of the vote against longtime resident and former council candidate Patricia Meier.

Harrison served on the city’s Board of Adjustment. Helping oversee the continuation of what she feels is a well-run city government is her goal, Harrison has said.

“I am beyond honored to have been selected by my community to represent them on the Olmos Park City Council,” Harrison said after her election. “I look forward to serving over the next two years.”

Councilwomen Juliana Dusek, an event planner, and Sharon Plant, a human resources director, ran unopposed for council Places 2 and 3, respectively.


Place 1 trustee David Hornberger won re-election with 73 percent over educator Arlene Serrano.

Hornberger, a financial adviser and Alamo Heights resident, most recently was the school board assistant secretary.

He campaigned for continuity in overseeing implementation of the district’s largest-ever bond issue, worth $135 million, passed by voters in 2017.

Attorney and Olmos Park resident Brian Hamilton ran unopposed to succeed John Tippit, who did not run again for Place 2.


District 1 Councilman Roberto Treviño, an architect, easily won a third term with 59 percent of the vote, better than the 50 percent plurality needed to avoid a runoff. He beat eight challengers.

Treviño’s campaign emphasized road and sidewalk repairs, managing area redevelopment, and affordable housing.

“I am excited to have the opportunity to serve the residents of District 1 once again. Together, we can solve longstanding issues like sidewalk connectivity with substantive solutions,” he said on his Facebook page. “Thank you District 1. I promise to keep working hard to improve the quality of life for everyone.”

District 10 Councilman Clayton Perry received nearly 64 percent of the vote, besting four competitors.

He made addressing basic city services, maintaining quality infrastructure, expanding public-safety personnel and reducing taxpayer burden his priorities.

“Since the start of my first term, I have focused on getting San Antonio back to the basics, and that is the position I will continue to take in this next term,” Perry said.

District 5 incumbent and business owner Shirley Gonzales coasted to a fourth and final term, collecting 65 percent against three opponents. Gonzales has promoted budget equity for her district, which includes parts of Southtown and the West Side.

San Antonio voters will return to the polls June 8 to settle the mayor’s race and two council contests, including District 2.

Retiree and former Councilman Keith Toney and business owner Jada Andrews-Sullivan were the top vote-getters in District 2, which includes Wilshire Village, Mahncke Park, Government Hill and much of the East Side.

Andrews-Sullivan champions issues such as economic development, public safety, and reducing the effects of redevelopment and gentrification. The winner replaces Art Hall, an appointee who declined a full council term bid.

First-term Mayor Ron Nirenberg squeaked ahead with 48.6 percent, while his top challenger, outgoing District 6 Councilman Greg Brockhouse, received 45.5 percent.

Brockhouse accused Nirenberg of failed leadership, claiming the mayor was out of touch with residents’ primary concerns.

A former council aide, Brockhouse made the council’s decision to not grant Chick-fil-A’s airport concession contract a top issue with voters. Brockhouse has said the decision discriminated against Chick-fil-A because its management does not support LGBTQ causes for religious reasons.

Nirenberg promised to keep working on job-creation initiatives, public-safety upgrades, and on improving management of the city’s growth.

Responding to opponents’ claims, Nirenberg, a former District 8 councilman, said Brockhouse was too close to the local police and fire collective-bargaining units.

The latter group, which pushed for city charter proposals Brockhouse supported in last fall’s special election, is still negotiating with the city on a new collective bargaining agreement. One of those initiatives passed by voters limits the city manager’s tenure and pay. Brockhouse has also been dogged by domestic violence allegations.


Nonprofit executive Christina Martinez won a full term as the District 6 trustee with the San Antonio Independent School District board. She received 37 percent against two challengers.


Neither Alamo Heights nor Terrell Hills had elections. Alamo Heights incumbents Mayor Bobby Rosenthal, Place 1 Councilman Lawson Jessee and Place 2 Councilman Wes Sharples drew no opposition.

Only incumbent council members William Ochse and Marilyn Eldridge filed for election in Terrell Hills.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.