Home Alamo Heights Olmos Park, San Antonio eye May 4 elections

Olmos Park, San Antonio eye May 4 elections

Terrell Hills decides not to hold charter-amendment balloting

Ron Nirenberg is seeking a second term as San Antonio’s mayor but faces several challengers in the May 4 election, including District 6 Councilman Greg Brockhouse. File photo

Two Olmos Park residents will vie for an open City Council seat in the May 4 election, and several San Antonians are jockeying for positions in four Alamo City council districts.

In Olmos Park, Erin Harrison and Patricia Meier both applied for Place 1; incumbent Councilman Enzo Pellegrino declined to run again.

Harrison, a territory manager of surgery/oncology for AngioDynamics, has served on the city’s Board of Adjustment.

While this is her first campaign for public office, Harrison said Olmos Park is a well-run city and she would like to see that continue.

“Olmos Park continues to provide its residents with excellent services, safety and a great sense of community. I want to do my part to continue building this city’s already great reputation,” she added.

Meier previously ran for Olmos Park council, and has volunteered with several local initiatives and civic groups.

Councilwomen Juliana Dusek, an event planner, and Sharon Plant, a human resources director, both filed for re-election. Dusek and Plant occupy Places 2 and 3, respectively.

The Alamo Heights Independent School District will have one race. Board assistant secretary David Hornberger, an Alamo Heights resident, drew opposition from Terrell Heights resident Arlene Serrano, an educator, for the Place 1 seat.

Attorney Brian Hamilton, an Olmos Park resident, is unopposed in Place 2 where trustee John Tippit is not seeking re-election.

No elections will be held in Alamo Heights or Terrell Hills.

Alamo Heights Mayor Bobby Rosenthal, Place 1 Councilman Lawson Jessee and Place 2 Councilman Wes Sharples drew no opposition.

In Terrell Hills, only incumbents William Ochse and Marilyn Eldridge filed for election to City Council.

Meanwhile, the Terrell Hills council has decided not to proceed with a city charter amendment election to change its fiscal budget year.

Municipal leaders Feb. 11 opted not to hold a special election May 4. Council members said it would not be cost-efficient to hold an election for a single proposition.

The fiscal year currently coincides with the regular calendar year, Jan. 1-Dec. 31. City leaders mulled changing it to Oct. 1-Sept. 30, which most other cities follow. Councilman John Low, however, said he would rather wait until the city has an opportunity to consider multiple charter amendments, which can be done only every two years.

City terms in office last two years. AHISD board terms run three years.

In San Antonio, voters again have a choice of several candidates seeking the mayor’s office or a spot on the council.

Former District 8 Councilman Ron Nirenberg is seeking a second term as mayor, but faces a high-profile opponent in current District 6 Councilman Greg Brockhouse, a former council aide.

Nirenberg, a consultant and former college radio-station manager, is campaigning on issues of transportation reform, economic development, quality of life, public safety, and ethics and accountability.

Brockhouse, in his first term as the District 6 representative, said Nirenberg has not provided strong leadership, while political observers see him as having a more conservative approach to local issues.

Brockhouse supported the fire union-backed city charter amendments that voters considered in last November’s election. Two of the three amendments passed. One caps the city manager’s salary and tenure to eight years.

Other mayoral candidates include Antonio Diaz, self-employed; John Velasquez, a psychologist; Matt Pina, a political scientist; Carlos Castaneda, a quality inspector at Toyota Texas; Tim Atwood, a part-time middle school teacher; Navy veteran Michael Idrogo; and retired Air Force Col. Bert Cecconi.

Idrogo, Diaz and Cecconi are perennial candidates.

Architect Roberto Treviño filed for a third term as the District 1 council member, but has seven opponents: general contractor Brad Kessler, business owner Justin Holley, retired military educator Alan Inchaurregui, retiree Raymond Zavala, attorney Lauro Bustamante, Colton Unden, a barista; Oscar Magana, a trade specialist; and resident Richard Gonzales.

District 10 Councilman and retiree Clayton Perry, running for a second term, is opposed by Terrell Heights resident Maria Perez, self-employed; Oak Park-Northwood resident Elise Kibler, pediatrician; Linda Montellano, claims adjuster; and Reinette King, a real estate investor who ran for council in 2017.

Eight residents filed for the open District 2 seat. Former District 8 Councilman Art Hall was appointed to the post after William “Cruz” Shaw departed the council to accept a judicial appointment. Hall did not file to run for a full term.

The candidates are: student Walter Perry Sr., artist/teacher Denise Gutierrez-Homer, Army veteran Jada Sullivan, student counselor Richard Ramey, retiree Keith Toney, seasonal laborer Joseph Powell, program coordinator Ruben Arciniega, Dereck Hillyer, a retired firefighter; and Salena Santibanez Guipzot, self-employed.

Sullivan, a motivational speaker, was a finalist for the interim District 2 post to which Hall was appointed.

The San Antonio Independent School District board also has an election. In 2017, trustees appointed Christina Martinez, an executive with Big Brothers Big Sisters of South Texas, to fill the vacant District 6 seat.

Martinez now seeks a full term in District 6, but she’s being challenged by Chris Castro, assistant principal at Nimitz Middle School, and 19-year-old student Eduardo Torres.

SAISD terms run four years.

Early voting is April 22-April 30. Election Day polls are open 7 a.m.-7 p.m.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.